COVID-19 UPDATE: Check out the latest Glacier Country Tourism information on communication response and resources.

Glacier Country Tourism Elects New Board Members

December 10, 2020 - Missoula, Montana - Glacier Country Regional Tourism Commission, the non-profit organization dedicated to marketing Western Montana as a travel destination, elected five new board members to its volunteer board. Ray Brown, Chris Darlow, Rob Harvey, Ashley Kavanagh and Juli Thurston all started the three year board term on December 9, 2020.

The successful applicants all work in a tourism-related business in one of the eight counties Glacier Country represents—Flathead, Glacier, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula Ravalli and Sanders.

  • Ray Brown - executive director of the Sanders County Community Development Corporation in Thompson Falls
  • Chris Darlow - owner of Darlow's Quality Foods in Superior
  • Rob Harvey - owner of the Big Sky Motel in Superior and Falls Motel in Thompson Falls
  • Ashley Kavanagh - owner of Rose Petal Floral, Cafe, and Supplies in Cut Bank and Columbia Falls
  • Juli Thurston - MSU Extension Agent in Sanders County

“We were fortunate to have a slate of candidates who represent a variety of different businesses in our region, as well as some of our rural communities. The expertise and demographic of our new board members will help round out the experience we have in our current members so we represent our region to its fullest,” said president and CEO of Glacier Country Tourism, Racene Friede. “This is an interesting and dynamic time in the tourism industry, and we look forward to working with these folks in assisting in the economic recovery of Western Montana.”

Glacier Country is recognized by the Tourism Advisory Council (TAC) and the state of Montana as the official marketing organization for Western Montana. Glacier Country is funded in part by the state accommodations tax (bed tax) and by private membership funds. Geographically, Glacier Country includes Flathead, Glacier, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders counties.